Eligibility & Criteria

The Clint Jones Nursing Award was developed in honor of Clint Jones, who worked with extraordinary enthusiasm and commitment at the Foundation for Healthy Communities, and with several other New Hampshire organizations, to encourage people to pursue a nursing career. 

The purpose of the Clint Jones Nursing Award is to recognize a registered nurse practicing in New Hampshire who exemplifies the practice of compassionate, quality nursing care and demonstrates a career commitment to the nursing profession. 

Selection Criteria:      

Demonstrates excellence and enthusiasm in these four areas:

  1. Delivery of patient care, using examples of direct patient care or the initiation of systems that have a broad impact on patient care.
  2. Communicating with patients, families and healthcare colleagues, using examples of specific incidents or systems changes that improve communications.
  3. Commitment to nursing as a career, using examples of participation/leadership in workplace committees, completion of certification programs, or educational advancement.
  4. Examples of inspiring other nurses and healthcare professionals as a role model.


  • Registered nurse who has practiced as an RN for at least 1 year but not more than 6 years.
  • Practice may be full or part-time in a hospital, long-term care, home care, hospice or other direct patient care setting.

Submitting Nominations:

  • Each nomination must be accompanied by only two nomination letters – one from a direct supervisor and one from a peer colleague who is involved in patient care with the nominee. Together, the nominations must address each of the four selection criteria.
  • Each nomination letter should be double-spaced and not exceed two pages
  • A supervisor can only recommend one nominee
  • Letters from residents/patients are optional and may be submitted with the supervisor’s nomination

Selection Committee

The Clint Jones Nursing Award Selection Committee, staffed by the Foundation for Healthy Communities, consists of representatives from the NH Hospital Association, Home Care Association of NH, NH Health Care Association, NH Organization of Nurse Leaders, NH Nurses Association and the NH Board of Nursing who review the nominations received.

Following the selection of the winner, the person who submitted the nomination will be contacted regarding the Committee’s decision, with the goal of recognizing the award recipient at his or her hospital during National Nurses Week.


Download the 2022 Clint Jones Nursing Award Nomination Form