Foundation for Healthy Communities Announces Woodlawn Care Center’s Angela Hooper, RN as 2023 Clint Jones Nursing Award Recipient

CONCORD – The Foundation for Healthy Communities is pleased to announce Angela Hooper, RN, with Woodlawn Care Center as the 2023 recipient of the Clint M. Jones Nursing Award, marking only the third time in the program’s 17 year history that a nurse from long-term care has received the prestigious award.


Hooper, a resident of Claremont, NH and the Director of Nursing at Woodlawn, received the annual award in front of her peers and family during a special Nurses Week celebration held Wednesday, May 11th in her honor.


The Clint Jones Nursing Award was created in 2006 by the Foundation for Healthy Communities to honor the memory of the former director of the Foundation’s N.H. Nursing Workforce Partnership.  The award recognizes a registered nurse practicing in New Hampshire for at least one year but not more than six years, who exemplifies quality, compassionate nursing care and demonstrates a commitment to a career in nursing.


In nominating Hooper for the award, Maryjane Vigneault, administrator at Woodlawn, highlighted Angela’s compassion as a nurse and her commitment to her patients and their families.  ‘Angela tirelessly advocates for her residents and exemplifies the practice of compassionate, quality nursing care every day,” stated Vigneault.  “She serves as a mentor and inspiration to all of her colleagues, and we couldn’t be prouder of her.”


Presenting the award to Hooper was Clint Jones’ wife Leslie and son Matthew, who shared a few thoughts on how much it means for the family to be able to recognize those in the nursing profession through the award.


“Given how important supporting the nursing profession was to my father, it’s an honor for us to recognize nurses each year for their commitment to delivering compassionate care with this annual award,” stated Clint Jones’ son, Matt Jones.   “We congratulate Angela on receiving this award, but more importantly we thank her for her dedication and commitment to her patients at Woodlawn Care Center.”


Also nominated this year for their commitment to excellence in compassionate nursing were Abigail Oliver, RN, Alice Peck Day Memorial Hospital, Lebanon; Belinda Williams, RN, VA Clinic, Somersworth; Caleb Couture, RN, Wentworth Douglass Hospital, Dover; Chelsea Date, RN, Exeter Hospital, Exeter; Emily Traves, RN, Wentworth Douglass Hospital, Dover; Erin Pottle, RN, VA Medical Center, Manchester; Haley Hartman, RN, Wentworth Douglass Hospital, Dover; Heather Budrey, RN, Exeter Hospital, Exeter; Megan Butler, RN, Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon; Meredith Feenstra, RN, Wentworth Douglass Hospital, Dover; Natalie Lelievre, RN, VA Medical Center, Manchester; Sabrina Fernandez, RN, Northeast Rehabilitation Hospital Network, Salem; Sarah Blanchette, RN, Southern New Hampshire Medical Center, Nashua; Stephanie Anderson, RN, Southern New Hampshire Medical Center, Nashua; and Tori Fouch, RN, Littleton Regional Hospital, Littleton.


Between November 2002 and February 2005, the N.H. Nursing Workforce Partnership, under the direction of Clint Jones, distributed millions of dollars in forgivable loans to hundreds of aspiring nurses in college and practicing nurses who received specialty training or advanced degrees.


Pictured below:

Matthew Jones, Angela Hooper, RN, Woodlawn Care Center; Leslie Jones; and Peter Ames, Executive Director, Foundation for Healthy Communities





Download the press release here..


Back to all Press Release